Kelli Cooper

Lawyer Kelli CooperI was born and raised in the Kansas City Metro area, and I have always been proud to claim this city as my home!  After graduating from Blue Valley North High School in 2003, I attended Kansas State University, graduating with a Bachelor of Arts in English Literature in the fall of 2006.  While at K-State, I was on the women’s collegiate rowing team, a member of a sorority, studied abroad, and was actively involved in animal rescue. 

I was a “summer-starter” at the University of Kansas School of Law in the summer of 2007.  During law school, I focused my course schedule on advocacy classes, particularly practical skills courses focusing on trial and motion practice.  I was a founding member and Vice President of the KU Animal Legal Defense Fund.  I also worked as a legal intern for a local criminal defense attorney.  It was through this internship that I started developing my career goals towards opening my own solo practice.

In the fall of 2010, I passed the Kansas Bar, and opened my own law practice in Olathe, Kansas.  In the spring of 2011, I passed the Missouri Bar, and started incorporating Missouri cases into my practice.  When I first started my practice, my cases were pretty evenly divided between family law and criminal law.  As I’ve gained experience and learned more about where my passions lie, my practice has developed, and today, the majority of my cases involve family law, such as divorces, custody, parenting time, and support.  I do still take on criminal cases occasionally.  I also have continued to practice animal law, as a way to incorporate one of my other passions into my daily work!  I particularly enjoy defending dangerous dog and breed specific legislation cases.  I am a member of the Kansas Bar Association, Johnson County Bar Association, Kansas Women Attorney Association, and the Missouri Bar Association.

I live in Olathe, Kansas with my husband and our 3 Bernese Mountain Dogs.  Occasionally, one of the dogs will join me in the office.  I am still very involved with animal rescue, frequently fostering dogs for local rescues.  I also enjoying visiting and boating at the Lake of the Ozarks during the warmer months, as well as traveling whenever the opportunity presents itself.      


about me